Sign or DRIVE

SIU has been contacted by the Champaign County Chamber of Commerce regarding the proposed reduction of Amtrak service.  As you may be aware, these reductions, if enacted, will have a significant impact upon college students throughout the state, including those at the University of Illinois, Eastern Illinois University, and Southern Illinois University.


For your information, a petition has been created for students to voice their opposition:




(Note, we may be days away from a state budget, so timing is important.)

GPSC is out of Travel Reimbursement funds and will no longer be able to process travel reimbursements FOR & FROM the 2015 fiscal year. 

Spring 2015 Semester Office Hours

EFFECTIVE June 29, 2015:

OFFICE HOURS HAVE BEEN CHANGED TO Monday 4-6 & Wednesday 11-1 


2015 Research Award Winners

GPSC is proud to announce the 2015 Research Award recipients!


Buday Labumar
Duong Beattie
Rowsey Kirana
Silva Chuang
Araujo Roberts
Burkart Voegel
Shi Florkiewicz
Stevens Bheemireddy
Flowers Simpson
Fulgoni Engelmann
Zembrzuski Stallings
Trebouet Rombenso
Bonjour Munch
Howe Semmel
Hai Feller
Liu Hayashi
Ceresola Kapali
Anderson Mook
Rawlings Shepack
Voegel LI


SIU Student Health Initiative

The SIU Board of Trustees approved the new ACA compliant Health insurance Plan on April 16, 2015.  The new health insurance will take effect for the 2015-2016 academic year.

Presentation on the proposed 2015-2016 Student Health Insurance Plan

Daily Egyptian Article about SIU Student Heathcare

WSIL Media Coverage on Student Healthcare – March 19, 2015

The SIU Student Health Initiative (SHI) is a public education and policy initiative dedicated to implementing the recommendations of the Student Insurance Task Force and to bringing the student insurance plan into full compliance with the Affordable Care Act of 2010. The SHI is organized by the students of Southern Illinois Carbondale — undergraduate and graduate, traditional and non-traditional, on-campus and commuter. Sign the SHI petition and check us out on Facebook!

During the fall of 2014, both the Undergraduate Student Government (USG) and Graduate and Professional Student Council (GPSC) passed resolutions calling on the Board of Trustees to bring ACA compliant healthcare to the students of SIU. These resolutions can be found here: USG Resolution & GPSC Resolution.

In the spring of 2015, additional resolutions have been passed by both the USG and GPSC calling on the Board of Trustees to approve the recommendation of the Student Health Insurance Taskforce.  These resolutions can be found here:  USG Resolution & GPSC Resolution.

Read a USG-GPSC Joint Letter to the Board of Trustees from July 22, 2014.

Check out these resources:
(1) SHI Position Statement
(2) SHI Benefit Comparison
(3) SHI Fact Sheet
(4) SHI Stories from Students

GPSC Vote for 2015 Fee Increases

  1. University Housing Fee Increase – approved – 16 yeas, 0 nays, 1 abstention
  2. Facilities Maintenance Fee Increase – approved – 15 yeas, 1 nays, 1 abstention
  3. Health Insurance Fee Increase – approved – 17 yeas, 0 nays, 0 abstentions

To find more details about these fee increases and the vote, please see the February 24, 2015 meeting minutes by clicking here.

Paul Sarvela Letter of Remembrance

The members and leadership of the Graduate and Professional Student Council would like to send their most sincere condolences to the family and friends of Interim Chancellor Paul Sarvela.

Dr. Sarvela was a great role model for SIU’s student leaders. He was thoughtful and considerate of the issues affecting graduate education and open-minded when listening to student ideas and concerns. In meetings Dr. Sarvela often listened more than he spoke, and asked questions to make sure he understood the issue at hand. He felt that students should come first and that their concerns should help guide decisions made by university administrators. Dr. Sarvela was friendly, had a great sense of humor and was often smiling; his positive attitude put people at ease. These are characteristics of a great leader and as student leaders we will continue to learn from his example.

In the months that Dr. Sarvela was Chancellor, he worked hard to affect positive change which will benefit students and the university for many years to come. On behalf of the Graduate and Professional Student Council, we would like to thank Dr. Sarvela for his 28 years of service to the students of Southern Illinois University Carbondale. His passion for the university and the wider Carbondale community will not be forgotten.


Remembrance for Dr Sarvela PDF